To the main content

Latest news of the HEG-FR

Congratulations to Dean Rico Baldegger on being awarded the Wilford L. White Fellowship

08 Jun 2020

We are pleased to announce that Dr. Rico Baldegger has been elected as newest Wilford L. White Fellow, with over 2/3 of the votes in his favour. A special thank you goes to Prof. Louis Jacques Filion, Honorary Professor at HEC Montréal, for his support as nominator.

Being accepted into the circle of Wilford L. White Fellows is the highest recognition that the association awards to SME and entrepreneurship researchers worldwide who have made an outstanding contribution to the development, furtherance and benefit of small and medium-sized businesses.

With this award, the International Council for Small Business (ICSB) honours the contribution of Rico Baldegger in supporting entrepreneurship; first in teaching and practice-oriented research as a professor, and in the last decade as a dean, inspiring colleagues and steering the business school towards entrepreneurship.

His research activities focus on innovative start-ups, the entrepreneurial behaviour of individuals and organizations, as well as the phenomenon of rapid-growth companies. Among his many projects, several notable ones include the Global Entrepreneurship Monitor Switzerland, Swiss International Entrepreneurship Survey (SIES 2019) and 'GUESSS (Global University Entrepreneurial Spirit Students' Survey)'.

He is also the author of several books and articles. Moreover, he is a business angel and serial entrepreneur, as is demonstrated by the many companies he has founded.

About the Wilford L. White Fellowship

The Wilford L. White Award recognizes the achievements of those men and women whose passion and desire for small business and entrepreneurship is reflected in their teaching, writing, research, training and public service. The award was created in 1977 and was named for Dr. Wilford L. White, the ICSB’s founder and visionary leader. Since its inception, only around 100 distinguished educators, researchers, government officials, small business advocates and trade association leaders have been selected as a Wilford White Fellow.